Northern Italy is a cultural and geographical region, without any administrative purpose, used to indicate the northern part of the Italian state, also informally referred as Il NordSettentrione or Alta Italia.

It consists of 8 regions in northern Italy: Valle d'Aosta V, Piemonte, Liguria, Lombardia, Emilia-Romagna, Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol. According to the 2011 census, its population was 27,213,372. For statistic purposes, the Istituto Nazionale di Statistica (ISTAT) uses the term Northwest Italy and Northeast Italy for identifying two of the five statistical regions in its reporting. These same subdivisions are used to demarcate first level Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS) regions ("NUTS 1 regions") within the European Union, and the Italian constituencies for the European Parliament.

Copyright © 2018 - Via Galliano, 36, Riccione (RN) - Italia
Website created with ericsoft